Let them see

10600022_10203328634350235_323412281_o-3

‘Turn around, face the town, let them see your face. 

Slow it down, and forget the times you thought about running away. 

Settle down your engines now, show them this is not a race. 

Come around the corner now, and show them all your strength. 

Stop the car, show them how, you have a million reasons to stay.’ 

I’ve been thinking a lot lately, about how many things can slip through our fingers, things we give up on, things that fall through the cracks despite the effort we make to  try to catch them, things that we never quite had enough courage to do, things you almost caught, but didn’t. Things you ran away from, both purposefully and unintentionally. 

Well, it’s been sitting on the back of my mind for quite some time now, how easy it is to escape. From reality into a fantasy, through a novel and a cup of tea. From safety to abnormality, through a ticket and a couple of weeks. From an idea to reality, with money and upcoming technology. Anyway; my point is, we all have an ability to escape in one way or another, but the future lies in whether we choose to come back. 

Don’t get my wrong, I’m the first person to pick up a book, get lost in a daydream and fall in love with movie characters, but one the booked is over, my daydream is interrupted and the character dies, it’s all over, and I come falling back to earth. 

A constant struggle between reality and a daydream, such was my life. I found myself talking about moving far away, to big cities, going to university in a state I barley know, and talking about all the people I was going to meet. 

That’s all fine and cool and whatever, but it was so hypocritical. When I had so many places to discover, here in my home town, so many people I had to meet, people I couldn’t leave (not yet), and a university, I found I would love to attend. 

It all hit me like a slap in the face, I guess city lights are a blindfold when you’re a travel bug struck teenager always looking for adventure. I decided that the city will always be there, but for now, I had to be here, right where I am.. after all, I had places to discover, people to meet, and a university to attend. 

My names Katie Baird. Maybe you already know me, and maybe you don’t, either way, whatever bought you here, I hope it brings you back. I started this blog back in February with a hidden identity, never showing you my face, never telling you my name, but in all honesty, I found that a little hypocritical again, when those things are what you see and facts about me, everything you’ve read on this blog is the real me, my inner thoughts and rants and emotional writings that pass for blog posts, those are more me then my face or name will ever be. 

Alas, I decided to tell you (and show you) because this is a promise. A promise from me to you, that I’m not leaving, I’m not going anywhere that my blog posts don’t follow far behind. As lame as it sounds and I’m sorry for that, but somehow, these posts have become a part of me, and I hope they mean something to you, because they mean a hell of a lot to me. So a shout out to all you readers, because I wouldn’t do this without you. 

Now that my inspiration story and REAL introduction are out of the way, let me update you! There has been so much I’ve been begging to tell you. There are 2 very big things I’d like to announce. 

1. I went for and got my drivers license first go! This teenager is now officially on the road, which makes it so much easier to find the places I’d yet to go. 

2. I applied and have been accepted into my local uni!!!! I’m in my 4th week and I still feel very much like a small and (young) fish in a big pond, yet I’ve been making friends and trying not to let me age define me. 

Also very carefully choosing who I let know of my age, I don’t know how people will handle having a 17 year in their tute, when 17 year olds are in school still.. alas, only one person has figured it out, and it happened to be my lecturer, she seemed genuinely happy for me too, which made me worry about it less. 

To end, there are only a few more things I’d like to say. 

1. I apologise for not posting in a whole month and I apologise in advance if I’m overly busy with uni to post for a while, however I will try my best. 

2. Thank you so much for all of your support through everything. You guys are actually so great. 

3. Post any questions or feedback you have below because I’d love to hear from you. 

4. Last but not least, my friend and I made a short video the other day so if you’re up for up for a laugh, check it out. 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=QM97xEd6GIE

Leave a Reply

